Spring has returned. The Earth is like a child that knows poems. (Rainer Maria Rilke)

It’s happened! It’s positively momentous! I’ve seen…….my first Robin of Spring!

Every year, I am like a child with this – I wait and wait and watch, and when I finally spot one, it’s officially Spring for me (no matter what the almanacs, meteorologists, and calendars say). I’ve done this ever since I could remember, even as a small girl.

Wisconsin winters are long, and tough. And, there’s something about the return of this bird, with his bold slash of crimson and his lilting song that speaks of promise and secrets, of renewal and rebirth.

Every spring is the only spring – a perpetual astonishment. (Ellis Peters)

Every Spring of my life, there have been mornings spent in bed, with windows opened to the fresh breeze, just listening to this song. When I think about them, it’s like I am there again in that moment, smelling the green air, and feeling the wet on the wind.

I feel jubilant today! Celebratory! Mad-cap! I want to go have adventures, and roam, and be outside!

Here’s hoping the rest of you are feeling Spring Fever, too!

It’s spring fever. That is what the name of it is. And when you’ve got it, you want – oh, you don’t quite know what it is you do want, but it just fairly makes your heart ache, you want it so! (Mark Twain)

