These gals look perky and sassy in their summer attire. This is not how I look.

  

Hot town, summer in the city 

Back of my neck getting dirty and gritty 

Been down, isn’t it a pity 

Doesn’t seem to be a shadow in the city 

 

All around people looking half dead

Walking on the sidewalk, hotter than a match head 

(John Sebastian) 

 

   

Zomigosh. It is so freaking hot. I have been barely capable of monosyllabic speech, much less able to string coherent sentences together.   

You know, I try to find the good in things. I try to look at the silver lining, see the cup half-full, see the silk purse and not the sow’s ear. Sometimes, though, I just hate stuff…like everyone else.   

This post is a tribute to the depth and breadth of my utter loathing of summer.   

I hate sweating.   

I hate the way the polyester in my bra seems to soak up all that sweat and just slide around, supporting nothing.   

I hate how my own legs stick to one another.   

I hate humidity.   

I hate not being able to do my own hair without my hands sticking to every bloody strand and bungling it all up for me.   

I hate that the instant I put foundation on, it starts sliding off my face.   

I hate how the heat saps my will to live (or to do anything, really).   

I hate going outside into the hellish sun beating down on me.   

I hate that the instant I walk into the sun, my super-fair skin starts to burn.   

I hate those creepy heat mirages.   

I hate how all the color leaches out of everything in the summer heat.   

I hate that heat rises (we live in a second story apartment with NO cross ventilation).   

I hate that central air conditioning is not standard in every habitable place.   

I hate, hate, hate being hot.   

I hate, hate, hate summer.   

(Whimper, whimper, whine, moan, cry).   

Okay! Done whining for the moment. I am going to nuzzle close to the Carter-era window unit the management company was kind enough to bring by yesterday and install. Even a brand-new unit wouldn’t be able to cool off our apartment to my satisfaction. I am just grateful that we have one – and that, Carter-era or not, it’s working very hard over there in the corner to cool it down in here.   

Sigh. Is it September yet???   

 

 

